DWI First Offense in Texas: What you need to know
If you’ve been charged with a DWI, the first thing to do is request an Administrative License Revocation hearing (ALR). You only have 15 days. If you don’t do it, you lose. It’s free and easy. If you don’t request an ALR, your license will be automatically suspended in a matter of weeks. Go here to learn more on Driver’s License information, including Occupational Licenses.
Next, hire an attorney. DWI is a serious charge, with serious, lifelong consequences. You need an experienced DWI lawyer in your corner from Day 1. It can be the difference between a temporary inconvenience and and permanent criminal record.
The penalties for a DWI offense in Texas are serious. Depending on your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) you could be facing up to one year in jail and up to a $4,000 fine as well as an additional driver’s license suspension and a lifelong criminal conviction.
I hired Mr. Trey Porter after getting a D.U.I. Was very much scared because I am a nurse and thought I would lose my livelihood. Mr Porter was reassuring and kind. He was also very confident.
Stephen, October 2017
Mr Porter was recommended to me by a coworker. He helped her out of a DWI 3 years ago, and he did the same for me.
Sammy, September 2017
Mr. Porter is very professional, he works diligently, efficiently, is in constant contact, and prompt!!! The key ingredients for a great lawyer.
Sheila Torres, July 2018
Trey is one of the best in the business. I was in complete shock of the outcome for the case, the best scenario was achieved in a not so great situation. Would absolutely recommend to everyone.
Stacey Reyes, November 2018
Trey is a phenomenal attorney that gets the job done right! He is dedicated to helping his clients. He made himself available and answered all my concerns immediately!
Bindia, March 2018