alt

What are the penalties for DWI in Texas?

The penalties for DWI in Texas are severe, far-reaching, and can have a major impact on the rest of your life.

It may seem unfair that a single mistake on the roads can impact your life decades later. However, that is the stark reality for people faced with a DWI charge.

What are the penalties for DWI in Texas?

In Texas, DWI is a criminal offense that is usually classified either as a Class A or Class B misdemeanor.

The severity of the penalties does largely depend on the circumstances of the DWI charge and the number of previous convictions, though.

Where there are repeated DWI offenses or bodily harm or death is caused to another person, the offense will be treated as a felony, which means that the penalties are even more severe.

Penalties for first-time DWI offenses

Most people facing a first-time DWI charge don’t know what to expect. 

The law is more lenient in these cases (Class B misdemeanor) but the consequences can still be severe.

According to the laws of the state of Texas, the penalties for a first-time offense for adults are:

  • A fine of up to $2,000
  • Three days to 180 days in county jail
  • Loss of driver’s license for up to a year
  • An annual fee of $1,000 or $2,000 for three years to retain the driver’s license

However, it’s not quite as simple as this.

In cases where the Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) is at or over .15 (as opposed to the standard .08 in a Class B misdemeanor), the offense is treated as a Class A misdemeanor.

The penalties then include:

  • A fine of up to $4,000 
  • Three days to 365 days in county jail
  • Loss of driver’s license for up to a year

Penalties for second DWI offenses

The penalties in Texas for a second DWI offense (Class A misdemeanor) are:

  • A fine of up to $4,000
  • One month to a year in county jail
  • Loss of driver’s license for up to two years
  • An annual fee of $1,000, $1,500 or $2,000 for three years to retain driver license

If you receive two or more DWI convictions in five years, you will be forced to install a special ignition switch in your vehicle. This prevents it from being operated if you’ve been drinking.

Penalties for other types of DWI offenses

Penalties escalate further in the case of third offenses or those involving bodily harm or death to another person. 

These offenses are usually considered felonies or enhanced felonies in the state of Texas.

Penalties include:

  • A fine up to $10,000
  • Jail time of two to 20 years with the Texas Department of Criminal Justice (TDCJ)
  • Loss of driver’s license for up to two years

There are other penalties mandated for DWI offenses where a child under the age of 15 is present in the vehicle.

This is considered a state jail felony and penalties may include:

  • A fine up to $10,000
  • Jail time of six months to two years in a state jail facility
  • Loss of license from 90 days to two years

Longer-term consequences of a conviction

As well as possible jail time, the immediate fines, and the loss of your license from a DWI conviction, there are potentially severe longer-term consequences that will last for the rest of your life.

Some of these include:

  • A negative impact on your career prospects
  • Restriction of job type you can apply for 
  • Reduced ability to earn income
  • A negative impact on your insurance premiums
  • An effect on your immigration status, if you’re not a U.S. citizen

In many cases, the longer-term negative impact on your life is harsher than the initial penalties you face from a DWI conviction in Texas.

The bottom line? If you’re faced with a DWI charge in Texas, fight it or face these consequences.

For more information, please refer to our DWI Consequences page.

What is your best chance of escaping DWI penalties?

A DWI charge is clearly serious and potentially life-altering.

With such severe penalties for DWI in Texas, the first thing you should do if you’re faced with charges is to hire an experienced lawyer who is familiar with defending DWI cases in your local area.

Remember that you’re innocent until proven guilty.

A good lawyer will carefully assess your case and examine all the evidence against you. They will look for ways to get the charges against you dismissed.

A case dismissal would mean that the harsh penalties never affect you and all details will be expunged from your legal record.

Even if the evidence against you appears to be compelling, law enforcement officers frequently make mistakes when gathering evidence and forming a DWI case. Your lawyer will look for cracks in their argument against you.

If their evidence is insufficient, inconsistent, or flawed, your case should be dismissed.

I’m an experienced DWI attorney based in San Antonio.

If you’re facing a DWI charge in Texas, call or text 210-920-1281 today for a free case evaluation with me or complete our online contact form.

 

    National Trail Lawyers

    AVVO Client's Choice Winner

    NHTSA Certified

    I hired Mr. Trey Porter after getting a D.U.I. Was very much scared because I am a nurse and thought I would lose my livelihood. Mr Porter was reassuring and kind. He was also very confident.

    Stephen, October 2017

    Mr Porter was recommended to me by a coworker. He helped her out of a DWI 3 years ago, and he did the same for me.

    Sammy, September 2017

    Mr. Porter is very professional, he works diligently, efficiently, is in constant contact, and prompt!!! The key ingredients for a great lawyer.

    Sheila Torres, July 2018

    Trey is one of the best in the business. I was in complete shock of the outcome for the case, the best scenario was achieved in a not so great situation. Would absolutely recommend to everyone.

    Stacey Reyes, November 2018

    Trey is a phenomenal attorney that gets the job done right! He is dedicated to helping his clients. He made himself available and answered all my concerns immediately!

    Bindia, March 2018