Cannabis is illegal in Texas. It shouldn’t be. Although public sentiment about marijuana is relaxing nationwide, the laws in Texas remain the same and the penalties continue to be severe.
How Severe are the Penalties for Marijuana Possession?
In Texas, general sentencing guidelines are based on weight.
• Possession 2oz or less: Class B misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $2,000 and/or up to 180 days in jail
• Possession 2 – 4oz: Class A misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $4,000 and/or less than one year in jail
• Possession 4oz – 5 pounds: State jail felony punishable by a fine of up to $10,000 and a jail sentence of 180 days to 2 years
• Possession 5 – 50 pounds: Third-degree felony punishable by a fine of up to $10,000 and a prison sentence of 2 to 10 years
• Possession 50 – 2,000 pounds: Second-degree felony punishable by a fine of up to $10,000 and a prison sentence of 2 to 20 years
• Possession over 2,000 pounds: First-degree felony punishable by a fine of up to $50,000 and a prison sentence of 5 to 99 years
Civil Consequences of Marijuana Conviction
A conviction for simple possession can prevent you from obtaining or renewing your driver’s license. It can also affect your ability to obtain student loans or federal assistance.
This is serious and the stakes are high. I limit the number of clients I take so that I can provide personalized service to each one.
Call or send a text to 210-920-1281 and you’re going to get me. Not a secretary. Not a law clerk. Not some associate attorney you don’t know.
I don’t charge for consultations. The State is working on your conviction. Let’s start building your defense.